I came across www.sendoutcards.com in an Internet traffic report on online gift and flowers shopping traffic. The site registered as #1 for the duration of a user visit. It clocked 20 minutes on average!!!
I had never heard about that site and asked a few American mates if they had. None of them did. It was interesting, but I quickly figured out why the visit duration was so long.
It’s simple. Ever been going in circles? Go to sendoutcards and you will. It took me ~ 10 minutes to figure out that there is no way for me do what they promise – send a real postcard from my desktop. I’ve got an eye for those things, so no surprise it takes 20 mins to figure that out for an unsuspecting surfer.
In essence, it’s a referral system where you need to pay a membership fee (up to $700), attend a seminar, do some training and then you’ll be able to knock on doors and promote sending postcards online. A strange way to market an online business, I have to admit. Looks very much like a scam.
Need an answer? Google it!
And so I did. Funny enough, the top PPC advert was saying
Is it a scam?
Get the truth. Read consumer
reviews on over 1000 opportunities!
www.alwaysresearch.com
Sounds encouraging, doesn’t it?
The first page has a lot of junk blog posts, but page 2 was interesting with some insights in the operation of the company. Here are some observations:
- it’s a pure pyramid where you make money on referrals, not on producing any value
- the distributors build it on the cheap
- recommended stock photos site is … because the photos are $1 to $3 and they admit they look crap
- recommended image editing software is something from Microsoft called Picture It.
- they have multiple distribution levels like in a pyramid system
No, you can’t use SendOutCards
A lot of referral sites promise a FREE card. The links always go some dodgy sites or emails @aol.com
None of the links took me to any ordering page. The farthest I got was a thank you screen after filling in a contact request form. Tough luck. Neither you can send anything directly thru SendOutCards. Go try it. I’m keen to hear from anyone who succeeds.
No, it’s not a scam
It doesn’t look like a scam, but it’s obviously a very dodgy enterprise. Just doesn’t look right, unless you like to listen to another mad distributor trying to sell you a bunch of $1-worth postcards as the best thing since pealed potato.
My quick search didn’t reveal any complaints about them, but some people were asking the same question as me and reaching the same conclusion that it’s just a pyramid. There was a suggestion that there is trouble because when a pyramid raises its fees then its only to prolong their unsustainable referral program. Been there, seen that.
Technology
Not sure what they use, but judging by what I saw in their demos on the website it’s something really basic. You have an image with people. Then you add balloons and people will insert text into those balloons. The site was flash-based and it’s probably what is used for the rest of their web-to-print, if you can call it this way.
There is one more thing – you can’t have a good design on good paper with high quality print all for $1 with a distributor share in it.
Hey, are you swapping your good old iPod for that new Microsoft’s “wonder” called Zune?
Check this excellent idea on how to dispose your iPod safely
[youtube=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8H29jU8Wrs”]